Triton Db2 Geek

Confessions of a DB2 geek

IBM Gold Consultant Program and IBM Premier business Partner

Confession of the Month

Want to reduce the number of members in your DB2 for z/OS V10 data sharing group?

November 18th, 2011 - by

For customers who are looking to reduce the number of members in their DB2 for z/OS V10 data sharing group, the APAR that provides this support – PM51945 – closed on November 1st 2011. It provides updated support to the Change Log Inventory (DSNJU003) stand-alone utility to allow you to deactivate a member within a group and then optionally delete it permanently.

The deactivate can be reversed, but be warned that once you have delete/destroyed a member from the group it is gone and the member ID is available for reuse.

Note that the group must be brought down to perform these operations and that a member must be deactivated before it is destroyed – so two group outages are required to implement a member removal.

The updated documentation is available on the IBM Information Centre for DB2 V10 here:

Admin Guide : Deactivating data sharing members – http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/dzichelp/v2r2/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.db2z10.doc.dshare%2Fsrc%2Ftpc%2Fdb2z_destroydsmembers.htm

Admin Guide : Destroying data sharing members – http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/dzichelp/v2r2/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.db2z10.doc.dshare%2Fsrc%2Ftpc%2Fdb2z_destroydsmembers.htm

Utility Guide : DSNJU003 – Syntax and options – http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/dzichelp/v2r2/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.db2z10.doc.dshare%2Fsrc%2Ftpc%2Fdb2z_destroydsmembers.htm

 

Comments

« »

Tag Archives